Expert Minor in Possession (MIP) Attorneys
Minor in Possession of Alcohol
The legal drinking age in Michigan is 21 years of age. The State of Michigan prohibits an individual under the age of 21 from purchasing, attempting to purchase, consuming or attempting to consume, possessing or attempting to possess alcohol, transporting, or having any bodily alcohol content. In fact, Michigan has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to matters of underage drinking. When you need a Howell area MIP defense attorney and juvenile court lawyer, contact the law office of Bill McCririe.
This zero-tolerance stance means that a juvenile can be charged with a MIP without participating in the act of drinking alcohol. For instance, an underage youth can be a passenger in a car while there is open or unopened alcohol present and can be considered breaking the law. This is regardless of whether or not the juvenile consumed alcohol. Similarly, Michigan has zero-tolerance for drug possession.
Minor in Possession of Drugs
If a juvenile possesses a controlled or illegal substance either knowingly or without legal justification, the minor can be charged with drug possession. Many times these charges happen when a youth is pulled over by the police while driving. The officer may notice marijuana or other drugs in the car while questioning the young driver. Drugs can also be discovered during a search through the vehicle. Minors are certainly charged with a drug possession crime if they possess heroin, methamphetamine, or similar illegal drugs. However, even possession of prescription drugs can warrant a drug charge. For instance, a child having physician-prescribed oxycontin is not breaking the law. But, if that juvenile’s friend takes pills from that same prescription bottle, the friend can be charged by police for juvenile drug possession. If you require the legal aid of a Howell MIP defense attorney and juvenile court lawyer, contact McCririe Law today.
MY CHILD HAS BEEN CHARGED WITH MIP. WHAT CAN HAPPEN NOW?
First Offense: The first time a minor is found in possession of alcohol, he/she is charged with a civil infraction, may pay a fine, and be sentenced to community service or substance abuse classes. A civil infraction will appear on the driving record of the child.
Second Offense: The second MIP can have more severe consequences – including a charge as a misdemeanor and a possibility of 30 days in jail in addition to probation and other fines.
Even if the first offense MIP is a civil infraction, which became law in 2018, we still view it as a significant blemish on your child’s record. We would suggest retaining an attorney with experience regarding these matters. Regardless of whether a MIP is considered a civil infraction, most people still view it as a misdemeanor and a strike against your child. If the underage person is found guilty, the criminal record is visible to important entities like university administration and employers. Even if your child seems like the most qualified candidate for a school or job, likely, the admitting/hiring party won’t see it the same way; that is why it is crucial to hire an attorney to see you through the process with the best results.
A Minor in Possession may be an indicator that the child has problems with addiction. This charge will likely damage your child’s reputation and future. With so much at stake, it is vital to hire a Howell MIP defense attorney and juvenile court lawyer with extensive experience in the area of MIP. McCririe has that experience!